What other North Carolina counties have passed a transportation sales tax? 

Other counties in NC to pass a transportation tax include Durham County (.5 cent transit tax), Mecklenburg County (.5 cent transit tax), Orange County (.5 cent transit tax), and Wake County (.5 cent transit tax). The tax in all of these counties has focused on their transit systems. New Hanover County’s tax would be a .25 and would focus on our bus system as well as infrastructure to improve bike and pedestrian connectivity for public transportation. 

Skip to content